ANNUAL MEETING OF BRIDGEND COUNTY BOROUGH COUNCIL

Decision Notice – 18 May 2022.

The Committee agenda and the meeting recording are available on the Council's BCBC website.

Present:

Councillors:

S Aspey, H Bennett, A Berrow, JP Blundell, F Bletsoe, S Bletsoe, E Caparros, R Collins, HJ David, Colin Davies, Chris Davies, P Davies, M Evans, N Farr, P Ford, J Gebbie, R Goode, R Granville, H Griffiths, S Griffiths, D Harrison, D Hughes, M Hughes, RM James, P Jenkins, M John, M Jones, M Kearn, W Kendall, M Lewis, J Llewellyn-Hopkins, R Penhale-Thomas, J Pratt, E Richards, R Smith, JC Spanswick, I Spiller, T Thomas, JH Tildesley, G Walter, A Wathan, A Williams, Amanda Williams, H Williams, I Williams, M Williams, R Williams, E Winstanley, T Wood.

Officers:

M Shephard, L Harvey, C Marchant, K Watson, J Nightingale, C Lord, MA Galvin, L Griffiths, A Rees, J Ellams, R Keepins, M Pitman, M Lawrence

ITEM 1. Apologies for absence

Councillor N Clarke

ITEM 2. Declarations of Interest

No declarations of interest were received.

ITEM 3. Election of Mayor

Councillor M Jones was elected Mayor for 2022/23.

ITEM 4. Election of Deputy Mayor

Councillor W Kendall was elected Deputy Mayor for 2022/23

ITEM 5. Election of Leader of BCBC

Councillor HJ David was appointed Leader of BCBC for 2022/23

ITEM 6. Appointment of Cabinet Members (including their portfolios

Councillor J Gebbie – Deputy Leader/Cabinet Member for Social Services and Early Help

Councillor JP Blundell – Cabinet Member for Education

Councillor H Williams – Cabinet Member for Resources

Councillor N Farr – Cabinet Member for Regeneration

Councillor R Goode – Cabinet Member for Future Generations and Wellbeing

Councillor JC Spanswick – Cabinet Member for Communities

ITEM 7. Appointments to Committees and Other Council Bodies

(1) Council appointed the Overview and Scrutiny Committees and such other Committees as it considered appropriate to deal with matters which are neither reserved to the Council nor are executive functions;

(2) Determined the size and terms of reference for those Committees as set outlined at Appendix 1 to the report

(3) Determined the allocation of seats to political groups in accordance with the political balance rules as set out in Appendix 2 of the report;

(4) Determined which political groups represented at Council are entitled to make which appointments of Overview and Scrutiny Committee Chairpersons;

(5) Received nominations and appointed Councillors to serve on each of the Committees, Panels and other bodies (as indicated):

- □ Appeals Panel
- □ Appointments Committee
- □ Governance and Audit Committee
- □ Democratic Services Committee
- □ Development Control Committee
- □ Licensing Committee
- □ Licensing Act 2003 Committee
- □ Town and Community Council Forum
- □ Standards Committee
- □ Subject Overview and Scrutiny Committee 1
- □ Subject Overview and Scrutiny Committee 2
- □ Subject Overview and Scrutiny Committee 3
- □ Corporate Overview and Scrutiny Committee

(6) Received nominations and appointed the Chairpersons and Vice-Chairpersons of the following Committees, Panels and other bodies (as indicated) with it being noted that the Governance and Audit Committee at its first scheduled meeting will appoint a Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson:

□ Appeals Panel Chairperson – Councillor H Bennett and Vice-Chairperson Councillor E Caparros

Democratic Services Committee - Chairperson T Thomas

Development Control Committee – Chairperson RM Granville and Vice-Chairperson H Griffiths

□ Licensing Committee & Licensing Act 2003 Committee – Chairperson M Lewis and Vice-Chairperson – R Williams

□ Town and Community Council Forum - Chairperson HJ David and Vice-Chairperson J Gebbie

(7) Received nominations and appointed the Chairpersons of the following Overview and Scrutiny Committees in accordance with the provisions of paragraph 4.3 of the report:

• Subject Overview and Scrutiny Committee 1 - Councillor Alex Williams

• Subject Overview and Scrutiny Committee 2 - Councillor F Williams

• Subject Overview and Scrutiny Committee 3 – Councillor P Davies

(8) Approved the appointment of the four Lay Members to serve on the Governance and Audit Committee for a term of office as outlined at paragraph 4.2.3 of the report;

(9) Approved the amendments to the Constitution as set out via tracked changes in Appendix 1 to reflect the revised composition of the Subject Overview and Scrutiny Committees, the Governance and Audit Committee and Appointments Committee;

(10) Noted that recruitment and appointment of replacement Registered Representatives will be undertaken in accordance with the provisions of paragraph 4.4.1 of the report.

ITEM 8 Programme of Meetings of Council and Council Committees

Council :-

a. Approved the proposed programme of Council meetings for 2022/23 set out in paragraph 4.1 of the report;

b. Approve the proposed programme of meetings of Council Committees set out in Appendix 1 to the report;

c. Noted the provisional draft programme of meetings of Council and Council Committees for 2023/24 set out in Appendix 2 to the report;

d. Noted the dates of Cabinet, any Cabinet Committees and the Coychurch Crematorium Joint Committee which are also set out in Appendix 1 and 2 to the report, for information purposes.

e. Noted that the timings of meetings shown in Appendix 1 and 2 will be confirmed upon the outcome of the Timings of Meetings survey to be undertaken by Members and further reported to Council.

ITEM 9 Representation on Outside Bodies and other Committees

That Council received nominations and appointed the requisite number of Members to the Bodies and Committees as shown in Appendix 1 of the report, as follows:-

Committees – Council

Cardiff Capital Region City Deal J/S Committee – Councillor P Davies, Deputy Member Councillor S Griffiths

SWP and Crime Panel – Councillor J Llewellyn-Jenkins

Outside Bodies

South East Wales Strategic Planning Group – Chairperson of the Development Control Committee (ie Councillor RM Granville)